$2K Scholarships

The National Fluid Power Association is offering $2,000 scholarships to help students enrolled in high schools, technical colleges and engineering schools pursue their interests in fluid power.


NFPA offers multiple $2,000 scholarships to high school seniors, and students enrolled at community colleges, technical colleges, and universities. The Fluid Power Scholarship aims to help students pursue their interests in fluid power. The money awarded is used to study at any accredited technical college or university in the United States.

The applicant does not have to be enrolled in a dedicated fluid power degree program but must be enrolled in a relevant program where fluid power is taught. Students enrolled in the following degree programs are welcome to apply (this list is not exhaustive):

  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Agricultural Systems Technology
  • Automation Robotics, Engineering Technology
  • Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering
  • CNC Engineering Technician Certificate
  • Computer Science
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electro-Mechanical Engineering
  • Engineering Design and Mechatronics
  • Engineering Technology
  • Fluid Power Technology
  • Hydraulic Engineering Technician
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Industrial Maintenance Technician
  • Industrial Technology
  • Manufacturing Equipment Technician Certificate
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering Technology
  • Mechatronics Certificate
  • Pneumatic Engineering Technician

Past scholarship recipients are eligible to apply again but have a different essay question than first-time applicants.

College Seniors/Graduating Applicants: Students graduating in May or June of the 2022-23 academic year are not eligible for a scholarship.

Students enrolled in a Master's or PhD degree program are not eligible for this scholarship.


The 2023 NFPA Fluid Power Scholarship is now open!

Applications are due on April 3, 2023 (11:59 PM - Central Standard Time). 

Follow the link below for more information on eligibility and applying.

Please contact Haley Nemeth at hnemeth@nfpa.com with any questions. 

Funding for the Fluid Power Scholarship comes, in part, from donors to the Tom Wanke Legacy Fund.

Please consider making a donation.

2022 Scholarship Winners

  • Paton DeSha

    Paton DeSha

    Chattanooga State TCAT

    Chattanooga, Tennessee

  • Ben Quade cropped

    Ben Quade

    Iowa State University

    Ames, Iowa


  • Brendan McCluskey

    Brendan McCluskey

    George Institute of Technology

    Atlanta, Georgia

    Raymond F. Hanley Memorial Award

  • Dmitriy Rybalko

    Dmitriy Rybalko

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park, Minnesota

  • Paul Schlotman

    Paul Schlotman

    South Dakota State University

    Brookings, South Dakota

  • Wyatt Morlan

    Wyatt Morlan

    Spokane Community College

    Spokane, Washington

  • Ryan Collins

    Ryan Collins

    Spokane Community College

    Spokane, Washington


  • Nicholas Zambrano

    Nicholas Zambrano

    University of Southern California

    Los Angeles, California

  • Spencer Burke

    Spencer Burke

    University of Texas at Austin

    Austin, Texas

    Robert Mackey Memorial Award

  • Michael Glochowsky

    Michael Glochowsky

    Triton College

    River Grove, Illinois

  • Hugo Garcia

    Hugo Garcia

    Moraine Valley Community College

    Palos Hills, Illinois

  • Tatiyana Timmons

    Tatiyana Timmons

    Murray State University

    Murray, Kentucky

  • Jose A. Solorio

    Jose Solorio

    Purdue University

    West Lafayette, Indiana

  • Nathan Linke

    Nathan Linke

    South Dakota State University

    Brookings, South Dakota

  • Zoe Kulphongpatana

    Zoe Kulphongpatana

    University of Kansas

    Lawrence, Kansas

  • Albert Ly

    Albert Ly

    Triton College

    River Grove, Illinois

  • Thomas Lahr

    Thomas Lahr

    Hennepin Technical College

    Brooklyn Park, Minnesota

  • Austin Nolley

    Austin Nolley

    Iowa State University

    Ames, Iowa